I’ve always been a believer of watching a movie first before reading a book… I know it’s a spoiler but I believe in seeing the movie/film as a separate form, as if it’s its own individual. Every time I happen to have read the book prior to seeing the film adaptation, I tend to criticize more negatively and form more biased opinions such as “It’s not the same as the book!” or “They totally changed that from the book…that’s not how it’s supposed to be!” and then the movie is basically ruined for me. There have been many movies-that-are-originally-a-book-or-a-book-series in the past 10 years that have had numerous negative comments because the movie diverted so far from the books that it seemed like fandoms broke loose. Some of these are Stephanie Myer’s Twilight series, Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon, and many others.

That’s exactly how I felt after watching the movie for Stardust. In the book, Dustan Thorn was “elfstruck” by Una, the glass flower vendor who seemed to be flirting with him and asked for a kiss on the lips in exchange of the snowdrop. In the movie, on the other hand, Una basically made-out with Dustan then took his hand to lead him to the caravan to have a quickie which ended up in the birth of Tristran Thorn. The book took a magical, almost-fantasy-perfect romanticized idea of making love in the woods. For some reason, it made the book seem as if it really was destiny (or love’s true desire) that led Dustan to wander into the woods the same night they copulated in the magical woods. So, of course, people would prefer that magical feeling and passion that is shown in the book between the two compared to the quick hook-up in a public market with a Faerie woman who seemed to have planned everything that will soon happen. The aspect of destiny and fate seems to be very lacking in the movie and this theme seems to be a strong recurring theme throughout the text. This change in detail annoyed the crap out of me since my romantic self believes in true love and fate and all that gooey stuff. Then in the end of the movie, Dunstan stands right next to Una during Tristan and Yvaine’s coronation like everything that happened was just simply accepted and let go… UHM, if a woman who basically dragged me into a caravan to have sex bore my child 9 months later and never saw her again until much later when my son apparently is the new king because apparently he was of royal blood, I would definitely need some explanation. Things like that can’t just pass by.

