Yeah, well it may have escaped yours, but you’re not in the sky anymore. Coming out is off the agenda. Shining has been suspended until further notice. Sleep during the day is O-U-T, unless you have some magical ability to sleep while walking. haaa! (film)

I’m going to try and get some sleep. I can’t think of anything else to do. It’s been a long day for me, what with everything. And maybe you should try to sleep too. We’ve got a long way to go. (book)

I chose these two dialogue’s because it is one example out of many that shows how different Tristran is from Tristan. I was so surprised at how they portrayed Tristan in the film. Tristran is oblivious,naiive, and all around not cut out to go into Faerie. If it weren’t for the stars broken leg, she would run circles around tristran.  He was more frusterating for me as a reader. Where as, Tristan has much more of a personality. He was more confident, not as oblivious, and was quite humerous. I like his character a lot more in the film because I always felt sorry for him in the book. Also, I liked how they played up the chemistry between the two in the film. The star and tristan bickered like an old married couple

Although, the changes in his personality does take away from his path/ journey to self discovery which is a huge component to the interpretation of it. It doesn’t allow us to see his transformation from boy to man like we did in the book. I wonder why they made such a drastic change to his personality for the film?

