After reading this article, I found it extremely easy to compare it to my life.  I know I haven’t officially gotten out into the workforce, but I definitely have felt the benefits of being involved in the arts and extra curricular activities.  I do not think there is an exact cutoff line for what should and should not be offered in a college education system as every person learns in different ways, is inspired by different things, and will have careers in different fields.  I can say that being involved in chorus, the musical, and the play at my high school opened me up as a person and helped me improve in many different areas.  King Lear may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but it seems like a good idea to let people explore different areas for their own pleasure instead of laying down strict guidelines of what people have to do.

I felt the connection that the author made to his teacher when I think about being involved in chamber singers in high school.  I knew that I did not want to pursue a career in singing, but taking part in that helped me to be more outgoing and improve my outlook in many different areas of life.  People can dig deep into little things like King Lear and find ways to compare what is going on in their lives to how they would react in Edgar, or Cordelia, or King Lear’s shoes.  In so many of Shakespeare’s writings, he gives the reader the opportunity to explore and use their imagination while still reading famously written stories.  I feel like cutting funds for education in this area is the wrong way to go when dealing with the concern for state jobs, and Shakespeare and other influential material in art education should be utilized to help improve student performance.

