“Rumble thy bellyful! Spit, fire! Spout, rain! Nor rain, wind, thunder, fire are my daughters. I tax not you, you elements, with unkindness. I never gave you kingdom, called you children. You owe me no subscription. Why then, let fall Your horrible pleasure. Here I stand, your slave— A poor, infirm, weak, and despised old man.

But yet I call you servile ministers, That will with two pernicious daughters joined

Your high engendered battles ‘gainst a head So old and white as this. Oh, ho! ‘Tis foul.”  Lear (3.2 14-24)

While reading through Act 3, I began to notice all of the similarities and relatable moments that are happening that occur in numerous stories.  The first scene that caught my attention was when King Lear was crying out during the thunderstorm.  To me, this just seems like it has happened in countless other stories to help overemphasize the emotion that the character has.  In Lear’s case, as shown above, it seems to be the first time he seems very vulnerable throughout the story.  Here is a definite defining moment in the story where Lear does not fully blame the tragedy on someone else.  As he is telling mother nature that she does not owe him any obedience, I felt as if this is the point where, because he is not being as self centered, some good would begin to arise in Lear’s favor.

 

A second point in this act that struck me as familiar was when Regan and the others has Gloucester tied down and were plucking his beard.  The classic scene of the “bullies” pinning someone down and mocking them also seemed like it has been used multiple times.  This tactic makes a reader feel sympathy toward Gloucester as a victim and made me personally feel like he would later come out on top.  Later in the scene when Gloucester has his eyes gouged out, I felt the connection to Oedipus Rex.  As Oedipus Rex was written nearly two centuries earlier, it seemed to me like Shakespeare is foreshadowing something in terms of suffering of a character with the irony of not being able to see something later in the story.  I’m sure as we read along throughout the book more similarities will arise from other famous scenes.

 

Oedipus Rex

