{First}Servant- “Oh, I am slain. My lord, you have one eye left to see some mischief on him. Oh!” {dies}

King Lear is the most difficult text I have ever read, and as I struggle to get through the readings I find myself being pleasantly surprised. I am slowly gaining a relationship to the characters and looking forward to what is going to happen next in the story. A large part of this is due to the outside readings that have helped me become a more engaged and critical reader. However, I was not expecting Act 3, Scene 7 to go down the way it went. When they started talking about gouging Glouchester’s eyes out, I was silently freaking out in the library. The entire Act kept me fairly engaged and longing to find out what happened next, especially when the real action between Regan, Cornwall, and Glouchester began to happen.

Act 3 did a lot of clarification as to who has power. I believe as we get futher we will find that Lear will have less and less power.  It became clear that Regan is an evil sister and has no sympathy for her father whatsoever. I found myself empathizing with King Lear as he was outside in a shelter like setting. For the first time we see a sincere and humiliated Lear who seems to be truly remorseful. I believe this is a foreshadowing as to the kind of person he will be throughout the rest and at the end of the story. I think it is fair enough to say that his relationship with his daughters (Regan and Goneril) is pretty must toast.

No Fear Shakespeare featuring King Lear, has really helped me translate confusing lines into modern words. Taking lines such as, “I now perceive it was not altogether your brother’s evil disposition made him seek his death, but a provoking merit set awork by a reprovable badness in himself,”(Cornwall) which today would sound more like, “Now I realize your brother tried to kill your father not just because your brother is an evil man, but because your father deserved it by being wicked himself,” has made reading King Lear more understandable.

 

 

