“Good my lord,

You have begot me, bred me, loved me. I

Return those duties back as are right fit—

Obey you, love you, and most honor you.

Why have my sisters husbands if they say

They love you all? Haply when I shall wed

That lord whose hand must take my plight shall carry

Half my love with him, half my care and duty.

Sure, I shall never marry like my sisters,

To love my father all.” ~Cordelia

I don’t know about you guys, but I used to think reading Shakespeare’s plays were so difficult to follow. Half the time I would never know what the words meant because a lot of the words are no longer used in the English language. Leaving me frustrated and bored at times. Also, my imagination was very limited. I only associated King Lear with the 1600’s ( or maybe what I thought the 1600’s were like) and castles. I could not seem to shake that opinion or view of the book when I read the first act.

However, now I look at King Lear in a completely different way. After our last class discussion and reading visit to a small planet, I am able to use my imagination more. Especially, after watching the trailers for “O” and ” 10 things I hate about you”. I stepped back and thought,yeah, concepts in King Lear are relative and comparable to today’s society.  In addition, all the questions posed in visit to a small planet made me realize that the interpretation of King Lear doesn’t have to be put into a box or only left for one interpretation of it.

Once I was able to look beyond my small imagination and start relating concepts to present day the reading became more enjoyable.

Anyway, the excerpt below and cordelia’s character in general is interesting to because  it would have been unusual for a woman to speak up in the time period this was written. Males were dominant to women. It made it an interesting spin on the play/book because the concept of a woman standing up to a male. GIRL POWER.

Cordelia-
Good my lord,
You have begot me, bred me, loved me. I
Return those duties back as are right fit—
Obey you, love you, and most honor you.
Why have my sisters husbands if they say
They love you all? Haply when I shall wed
That lord whose hand must take my plight shall carry
Half my love with him, half my care and duty.
Sure, I shall never marry like my sisters,
To love my father all.
